The Kravis Prize

The Henry Kravis Prize in Leadership was created in 2006. The organization conducts a rigorous due diligence and selection process to chose a recipient every year. The winner is given $250,000 towards their nonprofit work and is honored at an award ceremony that celebrates all that they have done.

The prize is presented by Claremont McKenna College, as well as Henry Kravis and his wife, Marie-Josée. Henry is an alumnus of CMC, while Marie-Josée graduated from the Hudson Institute. Henry is known in the business world for being the co-founder of Kohlberg Kravis Roberts, and Marie-Josée, an economist is the president of the MoMA. The Prize is affiliated with The Kravis Leadership Institute, one of CMC’s ten research institutes.

In a video uploaded by CMC college for the 2010 Prize, Henry Kravis stated that, “To me, a leader has to have a vision first of all. Then from that they have to be able to communicate exceptionally well that vision. To be a good leader they have to have followers. They have to be able to convince people that their vision, their idea, makes sense for people to follow behind them.”

Past winners include Pratham, the Forum For African Women Educationalists, Mothers2Mothers and Right to Play.


About DevonJ140
I am currently an Accounting Director living in New York City. I love reading and learning more about business, finance, tech, and current events.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: