Niloofar Rhmani becomes The Afgahan Air Force’s First Female Graduate in over 30 Years

niloofar-rhmani

IMG: via afcent.af.mil  Photo Credit: Scott Saldukas

In May of 2013, 21-year-old Niloofar Rhmani became the first women to graduate from the Afghan Air Force since the 1980s. She was awarded this honor after completing the air force’s undergraduate pilot training program. She was required to fly about 145 hours, and she spent about a year learning English to be able to qualify.

“First, it was my ambition, and second, I want to show that Afganistan can have female pilots,” she told the Times.

She posted her story on Reddit, and has received almost 30,000 upvotes since Tuesday.

One Reddit user, who is an Afghan male wrote, “I’m proud that she’s giving hope to all the little girls back home who have to better themselves under daily threats of violence. I hope this is the beginning of changing attitudes back home.”

While there is speculation if she is actually Afghanistan’s first female pilot or not, she has made a great impact regardless.

“Now my goal is to help my country have a bright future and stand up for females. I helped break down the doors for them after me,” Rhmani said on the website of the U.S. Air Forces Central Command.

 

About DevonJ140
I am currently an Accounting Director living in New York City. I love reading and learning more about business, finance, tech, and current events.

Leave a Reply

